Speaking Your Language

The business users' blog about document generation and all things reporting software

banner ad

Speaking Your Language - The business users' blog about document generation and all things reporting software

Ten Quick Tips for AutoTag Reporting and DocGen Software

Save yourself a little time today — or maybe pick up a new trick or two — with some of our favorite tips for your Microsoft Word report templates.

Speed up AutoTag by turning off the security checking of signed DLLs.

1. AutoTag taking a long time to load? See this article on how to turn off security checking of signed DLLS.

2. Select a whole tag without any mistakes by putting your cursor at the end of the tag and then hitting backspace. You can then copy or cut the entire tag using basic Word commands.

3. When you need a page break, put in a hard page break. This will help ensure the final report looks the way you want it to.

4. Using positioning relative to the paragraph, column, etc. will make the report’s output match the template as closely as possible.

5. When designing templates, try to leave a little room on each page. Sooner or later you will encounter a system where the fonts are a bit larger or something else eats up more space than expected – and your 1 page turns into 2 pages.

6. Add a cover letter to your report by using either the import tag or Word’s Text From File command.

7. Remember that Word treats headers, footers and the body as three separate documents. Tags must start and end in each “document.”

Change the order in which data sources are called upon when generating a report.

8. Change the order data sources are called upon. Reorder them by clicking the Data Sources icon, highlighting a data source and selecting the Move Up or Move Down icon.

9.Want to keep some portions of a template static? You can set a Word template to allow only certain parts of the document to be editable.

10. Update your tags to the latest syntax with the Clean Template tool. This tool creates a new template that scrubs the file, closes your existing template, opens the new scrubbed template, deletes the old file, and renames the new file to the name of the original file.

###